american democracy as selfish lovers

i’m an every inch selfish lover

threatened by times i wasn’t in your life, not because i missed it

but i’m scared you miss it

and somehow i know, i could never compare

 

and so i loud-hailor my feelings at you

trying to crack, force, tear open my inner world

full disclosure

 

sticker over my own fears,

a patchwork of erratic unaccountable exhausting behaviour

 

how could i ever trust you’ve actually chosen me

a full, informed true choice

 Pennsylvania, Wincounsin, Iowa

a more violent cycle each time,

don’t let me win on my own terms

Leave a Reply

